Winterland Adventures REVIEW – Lake County’s First Ice Rink

How would you like to be whisked away from the Florida heat, to a snow covered cabin in the mountains, without stepping foot across the Florida border? Walk amongst the pine trees, sit by a fireplace, or even take a spin on the ice. Our Winterland Adventures review of Lake County’s first ice rink gives you a sneak peek of this magical place. 

Teens sitting for photo outside of Winterland Adventures

Before entering Winterland Adventures, you get a glimpse of the atmosphere. A chance to snap a photo with pine and white birch trees, and majestic snow topped mountains. 

Thank you to Winterland Adventures for hosting us. Opinions and review is based solely on our experience. 

What Is Included?

racks of ice skates

All entry pricing includes skate rental, and you can choose from either traditional or hockey skates. 

Ice World seal for ice rink

For those with younger/inexperienced skaters, they can use these seals to skate behind, or even sit on while someone takes them for a ride. 

Teen girls on ice rink Pinterest graphic

Even the teens enjoyed taking turns with the seals. 

Ice skating bikes on rink of ice

After the soft opening period is over, it sounds like they will have fun events, like ice bike racing?? Has anyone else ever seen or heard of such a thing? We got the chance to watch people take a ride on these ice bikes. Be sure to check out our video to see them. It looks like a blast! 

Seating

Seating area with tables

If you need to take a break, or you are just there to be an observer, like I was, there is plenty of seating. Several high top tables, across from the LeChalet, which overlook the ice rink. The large area with lots of tables also includes a fireplace, with a couch. Some of the seating area does not allow skates. so keep that in mind when choosing your spot. 

Wooden bench inside Winterland Adventures

Plenty of cute wooden benches add to the outdoor park ambiance. Near the ice skate pick up/drop off, there are also benches to switch out your shoes and skates. They give you a bracelet with a bin number for your groups’ shoes to be kept together too. 

Food & Refreshments From LeChalet

WaffStix and crepe from LeChalet

Winterland Adventures offered us complimentary WaffStix and a Crepe. We chose the Salted Caramel WaffStix, and the Nutella Crepe, and decided to add on a couple cups of hot chocolate. Everything was beyond yummy. 

LeChalet food counter at Winterland Adventures

Aside from snacks, they also offer heartier options, such as sandwich crepes, pizza, soups, salads and nachos. Wine and beer can be found on the drinks menu too. 

Atmosphere

Teens dancing while ice skating at Winterland Adventures

With a state of the art sound and lighting system, the kids got a kick out of dancing to the music, (you can find the girls rocking to “Dancing Queen” on the video)

Winterland Adventures Ice Rink

The “Lodge” feel and decor is perfect, and sets Winterland Adventures apart from an everyday ice rink. It’s more about creating an experience, than it is about being a regulation sized ice rink. 

Pricing & Hours

Final Thoughts

Pinterest graphic with teens ice skating

The kids all had a great time, and I believe having an ice rink in Lake County is long overdue. To beat the heat, there should be more ice rinks in The Sunshine State!! 

For more Central Florida fun:

Lake Apopka Wildlife Drive

Snorkeling in the Ocala National Forest


36 thoughts on “Winterland Adventures REVIEW – Lake County’s First Ice Rink

  • September 11, 2019 at 8:40 pm
    Permalink

    How fun. I would love to check this out. I remember going ice skating as a kid, but I didn’t think there were anymore rinks in Florida. The perfect way to beat the heat. And jeez, is it hot!

    • September 12, 2019 at 9:04 pm
      Permalink

      Happy to see them coming back because the next closest to us is 45 minutes away. And yes, it is HOT!!

  • September 12, 2019 at 9:27 am
    Permalink

    This looks like so much fun! I’ve ice skated a total of 2 times in my life and I loved it. I didn’t even fall down. I think it’s because I used to roller skate all the time when I was younger.

    • September 12, 2019 at 9:06 pm
      Permalink

      Growing up in Michigan, we used to ice skate all the time!!

  • September 12, 2019 at 9:34 am
    Permalink

    This is so fun! I would totally get a seal, my skating skills are not great.

    • September 12, 2019 at 9:06 pm
      Permalink

      Lol, I would surely need one nowadays!!

  • September 12, 2019 at 10:00 am
    Permalink

    Those seals for the kids to skate behind are so cute! I will take one of those waffstix too! 🙂 Yum! Looks like a great place to go to get out of the FL heat 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    • September 12, 2019 at 9:07 pm
      Permalink

      I know, right??? Never seen anything like the seals before. They used folding chairs back in my day, LOL!

  • September 12, 2019 at 11:17 am
    Permalink

    What fun! I love ice skating but it’s definitely something I never would have considered in Florida! I love it.

    • September 12, 2019 at 9:16 pm
      Permalink

      Right?? I’m guessing that’s why there’s a lack of ice rinks. But this Northern girl is happy to have one close by!

  • September 12, 2019 at 2:50 pm
    Permalink

    Thanks for a pretty thorough review, I haven’t taken my youngest ice skating yet and those seals look like a great way to ease onto the ice.

    • September 12, 2019 at 9:26 pm
      Permalink

      Wish they had these seals when my girls were little!

  • September 12, 2019 at 4:50 pm
    Permalink

    An ice rink probably is very nice to beat the heat of Florida!

    • September 12, 2019 at 9:27 pm
      Permalink

      It sure is!! Happy to have one close by now!

  • September 12, 2019 at 6:08 pm
    Permalink

    Looks like so much fun! We were supposed to get one like this here and it did not happen. I would love to be able to skate in FL! I will definitely be stopping by!

    • September 12, 2019 at 9:30 pm
      Permalink

      What a bummer. Sorry to hear it fell through. Now you get to come out my way though!

  • September 12, 2019 at 8:39 pm
    Permalink

    I love the seals! What a great idea! And that waffstix looks super-yummy!

    • September 12, 2019 at 9:30 pm
      Permalink

      Makes me wonder why someone didn’t think of the seals sooner.

  • September 12, 2019 at 9:17 pm
    Permalink

    The big wheels on ice it just too funny. My girls would love it. The food is also a big draw.

    • September 12, 2019 at 10:46 pm
      Permalink

      I would be totally up for riding the bikes!!

  • September 12, 2019 at 10:22 pm
    Permalink

    I am so terrible at ice skating, but my kids love it. They’ve only been a handful of times, since we’re Floridians, but they have so much fun!

    • September 12, 2019 at 10:47 pm
      Permalink

      Same for my girls. And I’m not really any good now. I’m much better at roller skating.

  • September 13, 2019 at 12:26 am
    Permalink

    How fun! Our daughter would live here. The waffle sticks – were they as good as they looked? Looks like a great family day

    • September 13, 2019 at 10:02 am
      Permalink

      Yes, Waffle Stix were so good!! It was a fun day!

  • September 13, 2019 at 1:31 am
    Permalink

    This looks like sooooo much fun! I would definitely check it out!

    • September 13, 2019 at 10:03 am
      Permalink

      Maybe I’ll get ice skates back on one day too

  • September 13, 2019 at 7:37 am
    Permalink

    Wow, this looks great. We have a lot of ice rinks around here, but they are used mostly for hockey. We really should have one up here. Outdoor rinks are becoming quite popular in Mass, but I can see where that would be work in Florida!

    • September 13, 2019 at 10:04 am
      Permalink

      My city actually had one in a tent during the Holiday season last year. It was very popular!

  • September 13, 2019 at 8:56 pm
    Permalink

    I love ice staking. This place is great. Love that you shared your experience. That helps me to decide to visit.

    • September 14, 2019 at 9:01 am
      Permalink

      Happy to help!!

  • September 13, 2019 at 11:46 pm
    Permalink

    How fun! It be quite a laugh on those seals I’m sure. But it’s be quite a laugh skating too. We’re not good at that type of stuff. Lol!

    • September 14, 2019 at 9:02 am
      Permalink

      Ha, I’m not any good now either. It was a laugh just watching them on the seals.

  • September 14, 2019 at 1:22 am
    Permalink

    I’ve lived in Florida & would’ve loved to have this at the time. Good to know for return visits!

    • September 14, 2019 at 9:27 am
      Permalink

      Florida definitely needs more ice rinks!!

  • September 14, 2019 at 3:02 pm
    Permalink

    Ice skating to me is a form of old fashioned fun. We do not see ice skating as much as we used to. Growing up, we had a pond in woods behind our neighborhood on which we used to ice skate when it froze in the winter time.

    • September 15, 2019 at 9:13 pm
      Permalink

      It’s sad we don’t see them as much as we used to. My girls will definitely skate more now!

Comments are closed.

70 Shares
Share52
Pin18
Tweet
Share